Return to Headlines

Board Vacancy Selection Process

The School Board is no longer accepting applications for the vacancy. The application window closed on Nov. 30 at 5 p.m.


Board Policies BBBA and BBBE outline the process for an unexpired term or vacancy on the school board. The School Board has implemented these policies in the past, based on recommendations from South Carolina School Boards Association and state law, and has established a process for the selection of a replacement board member. 


The process is as follows:


Nov. 16 – Application Opens

  1. Members of the public who reside in the Rock Hill School District are eligible to apply for the vacant board seat. Qualifications are based on state law including, the applicant may not be a convicted felon, they must be eligible - and registered to - vote and they may not be a Rock Hill School District employee.
  2. Interested candidates should apply by 5 p.m. on Nov. 30. There is no form for application. A complete application includes:
  • cover letter stating name, address, background, qualifications, and reasons for wanting to serve as a board member
  • resume or CV
  1. The board will only consider complete applications sent via email through this process. The board reserves the right to extend the application process if the candidate pool is deemed insufficient.


Nov. 30 – Application Closes

All completed applications were due by 5 p.m. on Nov. 30 with no exceptions.


Dec. 1-8 Board Reviews Applications

The board will call a special meeting for review of applications.

If needed, interviews will be conducted in an executive session.

The six-member board will vote in open session to approve the selection of a new board member.


Dec. 12 – Tentative - New Board Member is Sworn In

If an applicant was approved during the review of applications, the newly selected member will serve until the next General Election in Nov. 2024 and will then have to file to run in the election so the public can affirm their seat.


For questions, contact Chairperson Helena Miller or any current board member: