• Attendance

    Students are required to attend school 170 days out of the 180 day school year.  This is South Carolina Code of Laws 59-65-50 and South Carolina Board of Education Regulations.

    Any student who misses school must present a written excuse, signed by a parent/guardian, or a medical excuse.  If this excuse is not turned in within THREE days after the student is back in school, the absence will be UNLAWFUL.  The maximum number of days that will be recorded as lawful absences with the parent notes will be FIVE.

    Students will be considered lawfully absent when:

    1. They are ill and their attendance would endanger their health or the health of others.
    2. There is a death or serious illness in their immediate family.
    3. There is a recognized religious holiday of their faith.
    4. The student is suspended from school.
    5. There is a necessary medical or legal appointment that cannot be scheduled during non-school time.

    Students will be considered unlawfully absent when:

    1. They are willfully absent from school without the knowledge of their parent or guardian.
    2. They are absent without acceptable cause with the knowledge of their parent or guardian.

    A phone call is made to the home after each absence. After three consecutive absences, the teacher calls the parent/guardian.  If the child misses 3 consecutive unlawful or 5 unlawful days, school officials are required to contact the parent for a conference to identify the reasons for the child’s absences and complete an intervention plan to improve attendance.   Letters will be mailed to the home after 3, 5, and 10 days of absences.  Excessive tardies may result in an intervention plan.

    The maximum number of days a student is allowed to miss is TEN per school year (lawful or unlawful).  When a student is absent more than 10 days, attendance will be one of the factors used in the promotion/retention decisions for grades K-5.  More than 10 absences and/or excessive tardies could result in a referral to Family Court. 

     

    WHEN IS SICK TOO SICK FOR SCHOOL?

    How sick is too sick for school

    When is sick TOO sick for school?

     

    Here are some quick tips:

    Send me to school IF

    1. I have a runny nose or just a little cough, but no other symptoms.
    2. I haven't taken any fever reducing medicine for 24 hours, and I haven't had a fever during that time.
    3. I haven't thrown up or had any diarrhea for 24 hours.


    Keep me at home IF

    1. I have a temperature higher than 100 degrees even after taking medicine.
    2. I'm throwing up or have diarrhea.
    3. My eyes are pink and crusty.


    Call the doctor IF

    1. I have a temperature higher than 100 degrees for more than two days.
    2. I've been throwing up or have diarrhea for more than two days.
    3. I've had the sniffles for more than a week, and they aren't getting better.
    4. I still have asthma symptoms after using my asthma medicine (and call 911 if I'm having trouble breathing after using an inhaler.)