MIDDLE SCHOOL GUIDELINES
Guidelines for Implementing Student Attendance Regulations
Students are required to attend school 170 days out of the 180 day school year. This is South Carolina
Code of Laws 59-65-50, 60, & 70 and South Carolina Board of Education Regulation.
Any student who misses school must present a written excuse, signed by a parent/guardian, or a
medical excuse within three days after returning to school. If this excuse is not turned in within
THREE days after the student is back in school, the absence will be unlawful.
Students will be considered lawfully absent with proper documentation when:
a. They are ill and their attendance in school would endanger their health or the health of others.
b. There is a death or serious illness in their immediate family.
c. There is a recognized religious holiday of their faith.
d. Activities approved in advance by the principal.
e. The student is suspended out of school.
f. There is a necessary medical or legal appointment that cannot be scheduled during non-school
Lawful absences allow students to make up missed work. The maximum number of days that will
be recorded as lawful absences with parent's notes will be FIVE.
Students will be considered unlawfully absent when:
a. They are willfully absent from school without the knowledge of their parent or guardian.
b. They are absent without acceptable cause with the knowledge of their parent or
c. Out of town trips/vacations.
Students who participate in extracurricular activities must be in attendance at least one-half of the
school day on the day of the event.
The maximum number of days a student is allowed to miss is TEN per school year (lawful or
unlawful). When a student is absent more than 10 days, attendance is an important factor used in the
promotion/retention decisions for grades 6-8.
Any student enrolled in a high school credit course will fail due to attendance if absences exceed a total
of TEN days (lawful or unlawful). Students who miss more than the allowed number of absences in a
high school credit course are required to attend make-up sessions or student will fail the course due to attendance.
Student Attendance Intervention Plans
After three consecutive or a total of five unlawful absences, regulations require that school
officials contact you and your child for a conference. The purpose of this conference is to identify
reasons for your student's absences and to complete a Student Attendance Intervention Plan. Students
who exceed the maximum number of absences allowed may be referred to the Family Court for truancy
if under the age of seventeen.
Citation: South Carolina Code of Laws 59-65-50, 60, & 70 and South Carolina Board of