We have been working to find and update the history of Richmond Drive Elementary School. Below is the information that we have uncovered so far. If you see any errors or note that there should be additons to the page, please let us know.


    Located in the heart of Rock Hill, Richmond Drive opened during the second semester of the school year 1949-1950. Around 1953, the cafeteria was added to the school. At the time of its construction, the population in Rock Hill was booming. Richmond Drive was built to ease the growth that the district was experiencing. The school first served students in first through sixth grade. Building additions were added in 1984 to accommodate a growing student enrollment.  In 1991, sixth graders were moved as a result of the changes the district made to move to the middle school concept. In 2001 Richmond Drive became a school of Choice for Language – Spanish. In January of 2019, all of the language classes at Richmond Drive, Rosewood and Ebinport were moved to Cherry Park Elementary: School of Language Immersion. Currently, Richmond Drive serves a school population of over 450 students in grades kindergarten through five. 

    School Colors:  Purple and White                                        
    Mascot:  Tigers                                 
    School Motto: Empower…Inspire…Achieve

    Janice Hyatt – 2018 - present

    Pat Maness – 2000-2017

    Sarah Lynn Hayes – 1993-2000

    Barbara Beam - 1984-1993

    Paul Cawley - 1976-1984

    Jim Graham – 1974-1976

    Vincent Butler - 1963-1974

    Vivian Carter - 1949-1963