Challenger

  • RHSD Summer Enrichment Program

     

     

     

    2016-2017 School Year

    The next start date is Tuesday, September 6, 2016 and Challenger After-School registration forms must be turned in to Challenger school site directors by Wednesday, August 31, 2016


     

    What is Challenger?

    Challenger is an after-school enrichment program for students in Kindergarten through 5th grade. The program is housed at each of the district's elementary schools. The Challenger enrichment program is separate from the regular school day.  Challenger is an optional, self-supporting, academic program. The Challenger program operates daily during the school year from 2:30 p.m. until 6:00 p.m. Enrollment for Challenger is on a full-time basis during the school year. Enrollment is based on the expectation that students are able to actively participate in the program and meaningfully benefit from being with other children.  Registration forms must be turned in to the Site Director for their review.  Site Directors are available 3:30-6:00 p.m., Monday – Friday.  At the time of your application submission, the director will provide you with a start date.  The daily schedule includes homework and snack time, healthy activities and Challenger curriculum.  Here is the Parent's Guide to help answer additional questions you may have.  For more general information and FAQs click here

    How do I register my child for Challenger?

    Give a completed registration form (pages A, B, C and D with banking information) to the site director at your child's school. The directors are listed below. Registration forms are in the office of our elementary schools, as well as the Rock Hill Schools District Office. When completed registration forms are received by the site director on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday,  there is enough time to set the account up for the student to begin the following Monday. Please confirm your child’s start date with your Challenger site director at the time of your application submission.  

    How can I reach my Challenger Director via e-mail? 

    Site directors may not always be available by phone and may need to return your call.  Your director may be reached via the following e-mail addresses or school numbers:

     

    The Site Director information below is for the 2016-2017 academic school year.  

    Belleview-Meredith Horton
    981-1191
    mhorton@rhmail.org

    Ebenezer-Melanie Sims
    981-1435
    MSims@rhmail.org

    Ebinport-Mary Lou Pundt
    981-1556
    MLPundt@rhmail.org

    Finley Road-Michelle Preston
    981-1280
    MPreston@rhmail.org

    Independence-Corrie Holiday
    981-1135
    CHoliday@rhmail.org

    India Hook-Lonzette Gunter
    985-1628
    AGunter@rhmail.org

    Lesslie- Tara Gilmore
    981-1910
    TGilmore@rhmail.org

    Mount Gallant-Chastity Baccus
    981-1360
    CBaccus@rhmail.org

    Mount Holly- Alicia Greene
    985-1658
    AGreene@rhmail.org

    Northside-Jodi Haynes
    981-1570
    JHaynes@rhmail.org

    Oakdale-Micheon Pearson
    981-1585
    gpearson@rhmail.org

    Old Pointe-Robert Bartless
    981-2040
    rbartles@rhmail.org

    Richmond Drive-Clara Walters
    981-1930
    CBwalter@rhmail.org

    Rosewood- Lacy Lentz

    981-1540
    LLentz@rhmail.org

    Sunset Park- Sally Hartgrove
    981-1278
    SHartgrove@rhmail.org

    Sylvia Circle-Sally Hartgrove
    981-1380 
    SHartgrove@rhmail.org

    York Road- Laura Norwood
    981-1950  
    LNorwood@rhmail.org

     

    What are the 2016-2017 weekly fees?

    Weekly Fees:
    $57.00 - Regular Lunch Students

    $52.00 - Regular Lunch Student if more that one family member is enrolled
    $39.00 - Reduced Lunch Students
    $32.00 - Free Lunch Students

    Family Trust Federal Credit Union has offered to assist any parent in need of establishing a checking or savings account for tuition payment. Family Trust brochures regarding branch locations, accounts information, and services are available at each Challenger site. Please contact your school's Challenger Site Director for additional information. You may also visit https://www.familytrust.org for additional information. 

     

CLOSE